The U.S. plans to bring clean energy to American Indian lands

Last Modified: Thu Mar 24 2016 07:01:25 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)
  • $9 million
    The Department of Energy (DoE) announced on Tuesday [22-Mar-2016] funding for projects that would provide for clean energy projects on tribal lands across the United States.
  • 24
    American Indian and Alaska Native communities selected by the Energy Department will see savings in money and reduction in carbon emissions, according to Christopher Deschene, director of the department’s Office of Indian Energy Policy and Programs.
  • 16
    facility- and community-scale energy projects will be set up in these communities. These include:
  • #1
    Akwesasne Housing Authority (Hogansburg, New York)
  • #2
    Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium (Alakanuk, Kotlik, and Noorvik, Alaska)
  • #3
    Alaska Village Electric Cooperative, Inc. (AVEC)/Pitka’s Point Native Corporation Renewable Energy Joint Venture (Pitka’s Point, St. Mary’s, and Mountain Village, Alaska)
  • #4
    Bishop Paiute Tribe (Bishop, California)
  • #5
    Chippewa Cree Tribe (Box Elder, Montana)
  • #6
    False Pass Tribal Council (False Pass, Alaska)
  • #7
    Hughes Village Council (Hughes, Alaska)
  • #8
    Little Big Horn College (Crow Agency, Montana)
  • #9
    NANA Regional Corporation (Kotzebue, Buckland, and Deering, Alaska)
  • #10
    Northern Pueblos Housing Authority on behalf of Picuris Pueblo (Santa Fe, New Mexico)
  • #11
    Nottawaseppi Huron Band of the Potawatomi (Fulton, Michigan)
  • #12
    Rosebud Sioux Tribe Utility Commission (Rosebud, South Dakota)
  • #13
    San Pasqual Band of Mission Indians (Valley Center, Pauma Valley, and Santa Ysabel, California)
  • #14
    Soboba Band of Luiseno Indians (San Jacinto, California)
  • #15
    Sokaogon Chippewa Community - Mole Lake Band of Lake Superior Chippewa (Crandon, Wisconsin)
  • #16
    White Earth Reservation Tribal Council (White Earth, Minnesota)