Tanzania Domestic Biogas Programme - Phase II

Last Modified: Tue Sep 20 2016 12:52:10 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)
  • 23 Jan 2016
    official public event held in Boza Village, Pangani District in Tanga region of Tanzania, to inaugurate Phase II of Tanzania Domestic Biogas Programme (TDBP).
  • Sh9 billion
    ($ 4.13 million) committed jointly by the government of Tanzania through the Rural Energy Agency (REA), and the governments of Norway and the Netherlands. Tanzania and Norway have injected a total of Sh3.065 billion while the Netherlands Development Organisation (SNV) has released Sh6 billion.
  • 10,000
    biogas plants are being targeted to be designed, built and installed in 2 years. The project will be implemented through Arusha based TDBP and will cover rural areas throughout Tanzania.
  • Sh1.2 million
    cost of a biogas digester, with around 25% of which will be subsidised through the committed funding.
  • 1,800
    units planned in Kilimanjaro.
  • 1,500
    units planned in Arusha.
  • 1,400
    units planned in Mbeya region.
  • 900
    in Tanga.
  • 800
    in Manyara.
  • 600
    in Dodoma.
  • 700
    in Iringa/Njombe.
  • 600
    in Mwanza/Geita
  • 700
    will be shared among Dodoma, Ruvuma, Singida, Kagera, Coast, Shinyanga/Simiyu, Mara, Dar es Salaam, Morogoro, Rukwa, Tabora, Katavi, Kigoma, Lindi and Mtwara regions.