Indigenous calendars from Australia - Gulumoerrgin calendar

Last Modified: Sat Jun 22 2019 10:10:10 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)
  • 7
    Major seasons in the Gulumoerrgin (Larrakia) seasonal calendar. Gulumoerrgin is the Indigenous language for Darwin and the surrounding regions of Cox Peninsula and Gunn Point in the Northern Territory of Australia. Members of the language group, Lorraine Williams, Judith Williams, Maureen Ogden, Keith Risk and Anne Risk, contributed to the development of the Gulumoerrgin (Larrakia) seasonal calendar.
  • #1
    Balnba (rainy season).
  • #2
    Dalay (monsoon season).
  • #3
    Mayilema (speargrass, Magpie Goose egg and knock ‘em down season).
  • #4
    Damibila (Barramundi and bush fruit time).
  • #5
    Dinidjanggama (heavy dew time).
  • #6
    Gurrulwa (big wind time).
  • #7
    Dalirrgang (build-up).