Tumkur Co-operative Milk Union

Last Modified: Sun Feb 03 2019 07:55:52 GMT+0530 (India Standard Time)
  • 1975
    Union established under a World Bank project. The Union sells milk and milk products under the brand name of “Nandini”.
  • 30 Mar 1977
    The Tumkur Milk Union registered as "Tumkur Co-operative Milk Producers Societies Union Limited" under registrar of Co-operative societies act. The dairy co-operatives were established under the ANAND pattern in a three tier system. Formation of Village Level Dairy Co-operatives societies at village level, Milk Unions at District Level to take care of the procurement, processing and marketing of milk and Federation at state level to co-ordinate milk movement and marketing at the State level.
  • 10
    Areas of operation covering entire Tumkur district of Karnataka. These include the Tumkur, Gubbi, C.N.Halli, Tiptur, Turuvekere, Kunigal, Koratagere, Sira, Madhugiri and Pavagada talukas comprising of 2574 revenue villages.
  • 266,454
    Total members enrolled as of Apr 2017. Of these, 108,422 are small farmers, 67,879 are marginal farmers, 39,290 are landless labour and others 50,863.
  • 78,646
    Number of women members.
  • 1,139
    Number of functional Dairy Co-operative Societies (aka Milk Producers’ Co-operative Societies). These are managed by representatives from the respective village and primarily responsible for collection of milk.
  • 271
    Number of DCS' that are exclusively run by women.
  • 630,000 kgs
    Milk procured each day from all the DCS'.